The Furies

By Katie Lowe

** Publication Date 08 October 2019 **

Violet has been through a tragic experience of losing her father and sister in a brutal car accident. Her mother has withdrawn from the world, unable to cope with the loss. When the opportunity arises for Violet to attend a rather exclusive girls’ school, she jumps at it. At this point, what has she got to lose?

The Furies opens with a scene of a dead teenage girl, dressed in white and posed on a swing. The authorities never find a cause of death. At this point we are not told who the girl is, or who is recounting the story. But it is a eerie beginning to a story about female friendship, peer pressure, and the volatility of being on the verge of adulthood. Told over the course of one academic year, and barely into the next, The Furies will captivate you with it’s lyrical prose and haunting images.

I was bewitched by this first novel by Katie Lowe. Bewitched being the appropriate term with its themes of witchcraft. The Elm Hollow Academy, set in a coastal town of England, has a long history of witches. The friendship between Vi, Robin, Alex and Grace is a typical one for teenage girls. Four teenage girls who believe they have the power to do anything and the inexperience to try. Add in a secret society and you have the makings of the perfect teenage tale in the tradition of The Heathers or The Craft. I did not want to put this book down. Every character is so well crafted, so well written, that you can almost see them. The story does not disappoint, it is beautiful in its descriptions. I cannot wait for the next novel by Katie Lowe.

4.5 stars on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *